Bristol Old Vic Redevelopment Time Lapse

Bristol Old Vic has reached a big milestone in its ongoing redevelopment project. Captured by our time lapse over the last few months, you can see the careful work undertaken by Gilbert-Ash to carefully remove the unwanted sections while protecting the iconic Coopers' Hall. 

The old 1970s section of the building has finally been demolished, making space for Bristol Old Vic’s new entrance to begin construction.

While the space is clear of buildings, for the first time in living memory, the actual 251 year old Theatre, built on a plot of land behind King Street, can now be seen from the street itself. Since its construction in 1766, the Theatre has been hidden from view by either terraced houses - belonging to the now infamous Mr Foote and Mr Gill, or with various versions of a foyer space or later, a studio theatre and office space.

The next incarnation, due to be opened in September 2018, will be a beautiful glazed entrance housing a new bar, box office and the revealed 1766 wall of the theatre, open to view and accessible to all.

 

19th Century version of the Theatre entrance on the site of Mr Foote and Mr Gill's house

19th Century version of the theatre entrance on the site of Mr Foote and Mr Gill's house.

 

Exterior of the theatre from 1902 until the renovation works in the 1970s which then incorporated the adjacent Coopers' Hall to create a new entrance.

Exterior of the theatre from 1902 until the renovation works in the 1970s which then incorporated the adjacent Coopers' Hall to create a new entrance.


1970s building which housed the studio theatre and office block

1970s building which housed the studio theatre and office block.

 

BOV Redevelopment - The New Foyer And Entrance - Designed by Haworth Tompkins

How the new theatre entrance will look upon reopening in 2018 - Designed by RIBA Stirling Prize winners Haworth Tompkins.